Stella Sola

Rating: 9/10

When I first started this blog, the main focus was finding cheap yet quality food to eat in Houston.  As you may have noticed, the tone has changed a bit — I have had the opportunity to eat places I could never afford on the reg.  I still very much quest for cheap and yummy places to eat but thought I would take some time to offer a commonfolk POV on what I think about the “fine dining” Houston has to offer — since I am by no means an aficionado.

That being said, I am in love with Stella Sola.  You can smell how brand new it is and it has a nice vibe with an interesting concept – Northern Italian with local/Texan influences (aka. Tuscan Texan)

I started with the Roasted Bone Marrow service, which is something I would have absolutely have never ever thought to order had I not read several reviews deeming it the best.  See picture at the bottom (I know it’s crap) – I could hear two neighboring tables inquire about the dish.  It was actually pretty tasty – the texture is a bit unusual, but the condiments served on the side really added some interesting flavors as a whole.

For my main, I had the Skirt Steak with Jalapeno Gnocci – very tasty.  I have to say fawned over this dish – the meat was prepared perfect and the gnocchi was fluffy and delicate. I ate every last bite.

For dessert, the fried risotto balls with honey ice cream – anything fried tastes good, but the honey ice cream was the star.  I didn’t even finish the risotto balls.

I will definitely be coming back!

Bone Marrow Service at Stella Sola

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Stella Sola

  1. Wow… how interesting! Gotta try this place. I am so glad I found your blog. I am a foodie living in Houston and love learning of new spots!

Leave a Reply

