Bocado’s Restaurant and Bar

Overall rating: 5/10

Total bill: $19.15 (Ropas Vieja and tip)

After aimlessly driving around in the Neartown/Montrose area due to some dubious road closures, I happened across Bocado’s Restaurant & Bar – a “fine Tex-Mex” joint close to University of St. Thomas.

I gotta say, guys – I was really looking forward to this one.  Walked in about 6pm to find it completely empty, which is a bad sign for a bar next to a college with a happy hour (maybe that’s just me?)

Gonna keep this review short and sweet – I had an item on the menu that was under the Cuban section(I got all excited about the plantains) called “Ropas Vieja/o” (not sure and the website doesn’t provide these particular menu items) Although it looked much like pot roast, it was completely dry.  The seasonings tasted good and plantains on the side are always a plus, but this was almost unacceptable.  As I’ve mentioned before on this blog, I am by no means a food expert, but I doubt the intention of this traditional dish is for it to take approximately 75 chews to get through.  Maybe a little harsh, but if I’m going to order a $16 dollar menu item, I expect quality.

Check it out yourself if you don’t believe me, but then again maybe I should have checked out the Tacos al Carbon as the “The Best Tacos al Carbon you must eat before you die” in the Texas Monthly December issue 2006.

1312 West Alabama Street
Houston, TX 77006-4206
(713) 523-5230
Leave a comment

Filed under Mexi

Leave a Reply

