Bodega’s Taco Shack!

Rating: 9/10

Total bill: <$15 (3 tacos, rice, beans and horchata)

Holy crap, this place was DELICIOUS. The reason why I wanted to try it was because of a review I’d read saying they serve cucumber lemonade there and that sounded so crisp, I couldn’t wait to try it.

Located in the medical/museum district off Binz street, it looks a bit like a chain restaraunt with a Freebird’s/Chipotle type setup where you choose your meal (taco, nacho, burrito, quesadilla… etc), then your meat, the fixing, and the sauce(s).

Honestly, I don’t even know where to begin. The options you have to choose from are endless – 5 tpyes of meat, at least 15 fixins and at least 9 sauces.

I went with tacos, so I could try as many flavor combinations as possible and  Whitney chose a quesadilla.

Kelsey’s meal: Each fixin on the taco was the same (corn relish, lettuce, tomato and cheese)

Taco 1: Crispy, carnitas, and pineapple sala.

Taco 2: Corn, spicy ground beef, cilantro serrano sauce

Taco 3: Flour, rotisserie chicken, ancho honey sauce

Beverage: Horchata (a cinnamony milky drink… pretty good, but the texture was confusing to me)

Whitney’s meal:

I don’t even remember but I know it was rotesserie chicken and had the cilantro serrano sauce.

Bev: pepino y limonada (cucumber lemonade…. which was VERY refreshing.  Whitney ended up linking the horchata better, and I like the cuke lemonade, so we switched!)

Overall:

This is the first meal I have had (since Oporto’s) that I actually verbally said “mmm” at.  No joke. I spent about 10 bucks for the hole meal, with the bev’s being about 2.50 and including a side of rice and beans. De-fucking-licious. Eat there. You will NOT regret it. I want to eat here at least once a week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mexi

Leave a Reply

